Basta Pinoy!  

  PinoyNation   Asiana Post | Advertise with Us | Subscription | Press Release | Contact Us | Press Pass | Sales

Community News
News Archives


Ni Ogie Diaz


  RP Oscars nominees announced

MANILA, March 16  -- The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) has announced the nominees for cinematic achievements for the year 2001, led by best picture nominees
"Abakada Ina" (Viva Films), "Mila" and "Bagong Buwan" (Star Cinema), "Yamashita" (M&Q Productions), and "Hubog" (Good Harvest Films).

Best director nominees are Marilou Diaz Abaya (Bagong Buwan), Eddie Garcia (Abakada Ina), Joel Lamangan (Hubog), Joey del Rosario (Kaaway Hanggang Hukay), and Chito Rono (Yamashita).

In the acting categories, the nominees are:

Best actor -- Ricky Davao (Minsan May Isang Puso), Jay Manalo (Hubog), Cesar Montano (Bagong Buwan), Diether Ocampo (La Vida Rosa), and Piolo Pascual (Mila).

Best actress -- Amy Austria (Bagong Buwan), Assunta de Rossi (Hubog), Mylene Dizon (Gatas: Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway), Maricel
Soriano (Mila), and Lorna Tolentino (Abakada Ina).

Best supporting actor -- Carlo Aquino, Noni Buencamino, Ronnie Lazaro, and Jericho Rosales (Bagong Buwan) and Dante Rivero (Tuhog).

Best supporting actress -- Ana Capri (Minsan May Isang Puso), Alessandra de Rossi (Hubog), Jaclyn Jose (Tuhog),
Elizabeth Oropesa (Balahibong Pusa), and Caridad Sanchez (Bagong Buwan).

Best screenplay -- Roy Iglesias/Chito Rono (Yamashita), Bing Lao (La Vida Rosa), Meek Roxas (Kaaway Hanggang Hukay), Ricky Lee
(Mila), and Shaira Salvador/Ramon Bayron (Abakada Ina).

The FAP awards are the equivalent of Hollywood's Oscar awards, the nominees and winners voted by peers in the movie
industry. Under the umbrella of the FAP are various guilds representing producers, directors, actors, writers, cinematographers, musicians, production designers, editors, sound engineers, and other workers in the motion picture industry.

Lifetime achievements awardees in the 20th FAP awards are movie queens of the 50s and great actresses Gloria Romero and
Nida Blanca (posthumous).

The awards rites will be staged on March 23 at the UP University Theater. (MNS)








Assunta de Rossi


Basta Pinoy News™, Asiana Post™, Radio-TV Pilipino™ , OFWBalita™, Alamin Natin™ are trademarks of Basta Pinoy News Copyright 1999, 2000, 2001 Basta Pinoy News All rights reserved.  No portion of this publication can be published in any form and any means without the written consent and permission of Radio-TV Pilipino Network, Inc. Basta Pinoy  is a Registered Trademark of Basta Pinoy News Registered in U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Terms of Use Privacy Policy.  TO VERIFY CREDENTIALS OF CORRESPONDENTS or SALES REPRESENTATIVES PLEASE CALL 561-900-5880  or  E-mail:  LEGAL@BASTAPINOY.COM.